The Commission meets ten times per year, once per month except in August and December. For meeting days and times, please check the Village Calendar. To watch live stream meetings, and comment in real time via the youtube chat function, visit the Village Youtube Channel.

Functions & Responsibilities

The Village of New Paltz Historic Preservation Commission seeks “To protect, enhance, and perpetuate the heritage of the Village of New Paltz.”

This is the mission of the Historic Preservation Commission (HPC) of the Village of New Paltz. The Commission was formed in 2001, based on principles established by New York’s State Historic Preservation Office (SHPO) and supported by a number of local initiatives.

Two main kinds of business typically come before us: applications for a Certificate of Appropriateness (CoA) and proposals to designate local landmarks. Certificates of Appropriateness are the means by which owners of landmarked properties or properties within the Huguenot Street Historic District submit proposals for changes to the exteriors of their properties, including major landscape changes. Landmark designation proposals come from interested parties, sometimes the Commission itself, based on one or more specific criteria related to historic, aesthetic, or cultural characteristics; architectural style; unique location or characteristics; or archaeological resources. Once a property is landmarked, it is subject to the Commission’s oversight for most exterior changes.

The five-member volunteer Commission oversees exterior changes only, and only for properties that either have landmarked status or fall within the Huguenot Street Historic District (established in 1964).

Current Members

  • Thomas G. Olsen, Chair (June 2022 – May 2026)
  • Kamilla Nagy, Deputy Chair (May 2024 – Dec 2027)
  • Stephen Cook (June 2018 – May 2026)
  • Shane Reidy (May 2024 – Dec 2027)
  • Michael Zierler (January 2023 – May 2026)
  • Alternate: George Sifre (May 2023 – May 2025)
  • Alternate: VACANT
  • Valerie McAllister, Secretary
  • William Wheeler-Murray, Village Board Liaison

To contact the commission email Valerie McAllister, Secretary at

Phone 845-255-0130

Agendas, Minutes & Documents





[wpfilebase tag=browser id=334 /]

Forms & Resources

  • Reconnaissance-Level Historic Resource Survey
    A comprehensive report with historical data on 659 Village properties built before 1965
  • Downtown Historic District Preservation: Guidelines and Recommendations
  • Application for Certificate of Appropriateness


Watch the HPC’s short 2018 film, “Historic Preservation and the Village of New Paltz.”

The video explains the history and principles of architectural preservation and applies them to the local context. It was realized with the help of a state grant from the Office of Parks, Recreation, and Historic Preservation, and it features the opinions and testimonials of elected officials, commission volunteers, and citizens who have worked with the Commission in the past.

Partners in Preservation

  • Elise Bacon, 12 North Chestnut Street
  • Mike Beck, P & G’s, 91 Main Street
  • Isabella Chisena, Isabella’s Treasures, 7 North Front Street & Isabella’s On Main, 81 Main Street
  • Robert Downs, The Cafeteria, 58 Main Street
  • Floyd Kniffen, 27 South Chestnut Street
  • Vanderlyn R. Pine, 16 Plattekill Avenue
  • Mike Rizza, New Paltz Auto Center, 91 North Chestnut Street
  • Toby Rossman, Horsefeathers, 15 North Chestnut Street
  • Harris Safier, Westwood Metes and Bounds, 134 Main Street
  • Mark Skillman, Fleet Service Center, 185 Main Street
  • Lagusta Yearwood, Lagusta’s Luscious, 25 North Front Street
  • The State University of New York at New Paltz (for renovation of Old Main Building and enhancements to its historic quad)

Designated Local Landmarks

  • 45 North Oakwood Terrace (designated 2002)
  • 93 Main Street (designated 2002)
  • 15-15 1/2 North Front Street (designated 2003)
  • 17-19 Church Street (designated 2003)
  • 16 North Chestnut Street (designated 2004)
  • 43 North Manheim Boulevard (designated 2004)
  • 14 Southside Avenue (designated 2005)
  • 122 Main Street (designated 2005)
  • 10-12 Plattekill Avenue (designated 2006)
  • 5 Main Street (designated 2006)
  • 30 Center Street (designated 2006)
  • Peace Park, 25 Plattekill Avenue (designated 2014)

External Links