The Shade Tree Commission meets on the second Wednesday of every month at 6:00 PM.

Functions & Responsibilities

The Board of Trustees declares that the protection, preservation, and maintenance of trees is necessary to protect the health and general welfare of the residents of the Village of New Paltz since trees are aesthetically appealing, provide environmental benefits and generally enhance the quality of life in the Village. The Board of Trustees hereby establishes a Shade Tree Commission, in accordance with the authority granted by Village Law § 17-1732, to exercise responsibility for the care and control of shade and ornamental trees and shrubbery on lands owned by the Village and promulgates regulations for the protection of trees throughout the Village.

To preserve the ecological health and aesthetic value of the Village of New Paltz, any resident, business or organization seeking to cut, top or remove a tree must submit a written request to the Shade Tree Commission prior to taking any action.

Current Members

  • Neil Bettez, Chair (June 2024 – December 2027)
  • Mark Eisenhandler (June 2024 – December 2027)
  • Shelly Ottens (July 2022 – May 2025)
  • Dwight Bayne, Arborist
  • Stevie Susta, Village Board Liaison

Send general comments or inquiries to

Agendas, Minutes & Applications





[wpfilebase tag=browser id=174 /]